Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
University of Florida · UF College of Veterinary Medicine · Gainesville, Florida, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusThree phases; Phase III occupies the third and fourth years (semesters 5-9)
- Tuition
- $28,790per year, 2026-27
About this program
Three-phase DVM program of 150 credits in which students begin clinical rotations in the Small and Large Animal Hospitals the summer after Phase II; a redesigned curriculum begins with the Class of 2031 in August 2027.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- UF College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The college describes its admissions as selecting the next generation of veterinarians.“has developed a strong admissions process in order to select the next generation of veterinarians”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- International applicants and graduates
- Applicants must be a US citizen or permanent resident at the time of application.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Phases I-III (Phase III covers years 3-4) | 150 | Required undergraduate courses with a letter grade of C or above; no more than three prerequisites missing at the VMCAS deadlineSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: University of Florida DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2022, next evaluation 2029 (as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Three phases; Phase III occupies the third and fourth years (semesters 5-9)
- Credits
- 150 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical components
- Students begin clinical rotations in the Small and Large Animal Hospitals the summer after completing Phase II
- Clinical placement
- Externships are optional and not required to graduate
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- UF College of Veterinary Medicine (Gainesville)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- No experience requirement publishedExposure to both large and small animal clinical practice is recommended; quality and range of experience matters more than hours.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Recommended: science, last-45-credit and overall GPAs greater than 3.0; no formal minimum GPA
- Science prerequisites
- Required undergraduate courses with grade C or above; missing no more than three prerequisites by the September VMCAS deadline
- International applicants
- Applicants must be a US citizen or permanent resident at the time of application.
- Documents
- VMCAS application, UF Professional Application (supplemental, US$30 non-refundable fee), three professional references including one veterinarian
- Deadlines
- The 2026-2027 VMCAS application cycle closes on September 15, 2026 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition/Fees, state-funded DVM students, Years 1-4 (fall and spring)Tuition · mandatory | $28,790per year, 2026-27 | state-funded | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition/Fees, self-funded DVM students, Years 1-4 (fall and spring)Tuition · mandatory | $45,500per year, 2026-27 | self-funded | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)