Master’s degree
MS in Veterinary Medical Sciences with a Concentration in Shelter Medicine (online)
University of Florida · UF College of Veterinary Medicine · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Master of Science in Veterinary Medical Sciences, Concentration in Shelter MedicineMS
- Pathway
- Not classified
- Format
- OnlineAs little as two years
- Tuition
- $15,750whole program, published program total (academic year not printed)
About this program
Fully online 30-credit master's concentration in shelter medicine open to veterinarians, technicians, shelter staff and other animal welfare professionals; no live classes or campus visits.
- Subject
- Veterinary science
- Department
- UF College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
- Prior degree required
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After a bachelor’s degree | as little as two years | 30 | Bachelor's degree or DVM/VMDSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- No
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- No clinical placement is described; courses that require access to a shelter need a relationship with a local shelter for data (students need not be working or volunteering there).
- Placement arrangement
- No placement published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- No
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- No live sessions
- International enrolment
- Yes
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- As little as two years
- Credits
- 30 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor's degree or DVM/VMD from a recognized institution; minimum 3.0 upper-division undergraduate GPA
- Prior degree
- Bachelor's degree or DVM/VMD
- International applicants
- Additional requirements apply for international applicants and applicants whose native language is not English.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Master of Science tuition, 30 credits at US$525 per creditTuition | $15,750whole program, published program total (academic year not printed) | Tuition (all students) | 19 October 2026Source |
Published program total: $15,750 (All students). Whole-program tuition as published.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)