Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) Program
University of Georgia · University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine · Athens, Georgia, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years; nine semesters
- Tuition
- $22,032per year, 2026-2027 academic year
About this program
Four-year DVM program of nine semesters with a continuous 12-month clinical year (Year 4) of two- to three-week rotation blocks.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The curriculum page says students cover all aspects of veterinary medicine during four years and leave prepared for the next step in the profession.“You’ll cover all aspects of veterinary medicine during your four years at the CVM”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | four years, nine semesters | – | Prerequisite courses completed with C (2.00) or better by the end of spring before fall matriculation; overall GPA of 3.0 or greaterSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: University of Georgia DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2020, next evaluation 2027 (as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years; nine semesters
- Clinical components
- Year 3 includes core medicine and surgery and clinical rotations; Year 4 is a continuous 12-month clinical year of 2- or 3-week blocks
- Clinical placement
- Externships are described on a separate page
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- UGA College of Veterinary Medicine (Athens)501 D. W. Brooks Drive, Athens, GA 30602
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 250 hours of veterinary experience under direct supervision of a veterinarian, completed when VMCAS is submitted.
- Interview
- No interview
- Previous qualification
- Overall GPA of 3.0 or greater (all undergraduate-level and later courses over the last 10 years)
- Science prerequisites
- 6 hours English; 14 hours humanities or social studies; 8 hours general biology; 8 hours general chemistry; 8 hours organic chemistry with lab, among others; science courses within the last 10 years
- Tests explicitly required
- The college no longer has a GRE requirement and does not use the score.
- Documents
- VMCAS application; UGA supplemental application (US$75 non-refundable); transcripts to VMCAS only; three electronic letters of recommendation, at least one from a veterinarian
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, Georgia resident, Years 1, 2 and 4 (2026-2027 estimate)Tuition · mandatory | $22,032per year, 2026-2027 academic year | RESIDENT | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition, Georgia resident, Year 3 (three semesters)Tuition · mandatory | $33,048per year, 2026-2027 academic year, Year 3 | RESIDENT | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition, out-of-state, Years 1, 2 and 4 (2026-2027 estimate)Tuition · mandatory | $51,696per year, 2026-2027 academic year | OUT-OF-STATE | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition, out-of-state, Year 3 (three semesters)Tuition · mandatory | $62,712per year, 2026-2027 academic year, Year 3 | OUT-OF-STATE | 19 October 2026Source |
| Fees, Years 1, 2 and 4Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $1,494per year, 2026-2027 academic year | Resident and out-of-state | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
College of Veterinary Medicine scholarships and awards Scholarship
Competitive
Eligibility: Based on academic achievement, clinical proficiency, leadership and community involvement
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)