Master’s degree
Master of Avian Medicine (MAM)
University of Georgia · University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine · Athens, Georgia, United States
- Official award
- Master of Avian MedicineMAM
- Pathway
- Not classified
- Format
- On campus18 months, non-thesis
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
18-month non-thesis graduate degree for veterinarians seeking a career in clinical avian medicine in the poultry industry.
- Subject
- Veterinary clinical sciences
- Department
- University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
- Prior degree required
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior veterinary degree (advanced standing) | 18 months | 54 | DVM degree or its equivalent; minimum veterinary school GPA 3.0Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 18 months, non-thesis
- Credits
- 54 semester credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Laboratory work
- Coursework combined with practical field and laboratory experiences
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- UGA College of Veterinary Medicine (Athens)501 D. W. Brooks Drive, Athens, GA 30602
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- DVM degree or equivalent; minimum veterinary school GPA 3.0
- Prior degree
- DVM or equivalent
- Tests explicitly required
- GRE combined verbal and quantitative score of 297 listed for competitive applicants
- Documents
- Online application via UGA Graduate School; transcripts; GRE scores; CV; three letters of recommendation; biographical sketch; oral interview
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
PDRC financial assistance and stipends for two to three MAM students per year Stipend
Competitive
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)