Veterinary Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Food Animal Medicine (MFAM)

University of Georgia · University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine · Athens, Georgia, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Master of Food Animal MedicineMFAM
Pathway
Not classified
Format
On campus19 months (June to December)
Tuition
Not published

About this program

19-month non-thesis master's for veterinarians covering production livestock medicine with clinical field work, a summer externship and an original research project.

Subject
Veterinary clinical sciences
Department
University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
Pathway
Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
Prior degree required
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior veterinary degree (advanced standing)19 months–Graduate of an AVMA-accredited college of veterinary medicine or ECFVG-certifiedSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
19 months (June to December)
Clinical placement
Summer externship at a livestock production unit or corporate research facility
Intakes
Not published
Campus
UGA College of Veterinary Medicine (Athens)501 D. W. Brooks Drive, Athens, GA 30602

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Graduate of an AVMA-accredited veterinary college or ECFVG-certified
Documents
UGA Graduate School application, supplemental information form and 1-2 page essay
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Graduate assistantship reducing tuition to $25 per semester plus required administrative fees Assistantship

    Only for certain applicants · Tuition cost reduced to $25/semester plus required administrative fees · Entire program (19 months)

    Eligibility: Available during the entire program provided minimum academic requirements are met

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, accreditation or recognition record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction