Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
University of Guelph - Ontario Veterinary College · Ontario Veterinary College · Guelph, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year professional veterinary program at the Ontario Veterinary College. Applicants enter through one of four cohorts (Domestic Undergraduate, Northern Ontario Undergraduate, Domestic Graduate, International) and are assessed on academic and non-academic attributes.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates for clinical and non-clinical veterinary careers.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Ontario Veterinary College
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The admissions page describes the four-year professional DVM program; the program page lists veterinary career outcomes for DVM graduates.“Admission to the four-year Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) program at the Ontario Veterinary College (OVC) is highly competitive”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Licensure in Canada involves the NAVLE and provincial regulators such as the College of Veterinarians of Ontario; see the CVMA website.Source
- International applicants and graduates
- International (including US) applicants apply through the International Cohort (approximately 15 seats per year) and must meet federal immigration requirements; Canadian citizens and permanent residents must be Ontario residents for the domestic cohorts.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year DVM program | – | At least four full-time undergraduate semesters and eight prerequisite courses with 75% averagesSource |
| Graduate-entry route | Four-year DVM program (Domestic Graduate Cohort, approximately 5 seats per year) | – | Ontario residents who have completed or are enrolled in a graduate degreeSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (with the CVMA)Program accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: OVC DVM program, as stated by the school
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Four years
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Campus
- University of Guelph (OVC)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not publishedThere is no minimum requirement for the number of veterinary experience hours, but applicants must demonstrate knowledge of the profession.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Minimum four full-time undergraduate semesters; 75% prerequisite average and 75% average in last four semesters
- Science prerequisites
- Eight prerequisite courses including Biological Sciences (1.00 credit), Cell Biology, Genetics, Biochemistry, Statistics and Humanities or Social Sciences (1.00 credit)
- Tests explicitly required
- Casper 2 (CSP-10211) English test required
- Deadlines
- Domestic cohorts: application forms and fees due 1 December 2026; Background Information Form due 15 January 2027; Casper scores due 1 February 2027; references and transcripts due 1 March 2027 · Fall 2027
- International cohort: VMCAS application and fee due 15 September 2026 · Fall 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)