Diploma
Associate Diploma in Veterinary Technology (Alternative, distance education)
University of Guelph - Ridgetown Campus · Ridgetown Campus - Associate Diploma programs · Ridgetown, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Associate Diploma in Veterinary Technology
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- Hybrid9 semesters over 3 years
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
Alternative delivery over nine semesters in three years that uses distance education courses alongside required practical components; details of in-person requirements are in the calendar course descriptions.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students to become veterinary technicians working with practising veterinarians.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Ridgetown Campus - Associate Diploma programs
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The calendar states the program trains veterinary technicians who work with veterinarians.“The program is designed to provide the technical training and knowledge required to become veterinary technicians working in association with practicing veterinarians.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 9 semesters over 3 years | – | Same entry requirements as the conventional deliverySource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: Ridgetown Campus distance delivery (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Blended with required campus elements
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Not published
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Six-week externship immediately following the final semester
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 9 semesters over 3 years
- Clinical placement
- Six-week externship immediately following the final semester6 weeks
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Ridgetown Campus120 Main St East, Ridgetown, Ontario N0P 2C0
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) or equivalent
- Science prerequisites
- Grade 12 C or U English; Grade 12 C Math or any Grade 12 U Math; Grade 11 C or U Biology; Grade 12 C or Grade 11 U Chemistry, with 75% at C level or 65% at U level
- Documents
- Career questionnaire; proof of adequate rabies titre by September of first year
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)