Veterinary Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Veterinary Science, Major in Applied Veterinary Science (online)

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · College of Veterinary Medicine · No campus · institution based in United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Master of Veterinary Science (Applied Veterinary Science major)MVS
Pathway
Not classified
Format
Online12 months (summer or fall start) or 24 months (fall start)
Tuition
$775per credit, 2025-2026 academic year (as published on the page)

About this program

Fully online 32-credit master's in applied veterinary science for students seeking careers in veterinary medicine and animal health; completed in one or two years.

Subject
Veterinary science
Department
College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
Pathway
Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
Prior degree required
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
After a bachelor’s degree12 or 24 months32Bachelor's degree or equivalent in any field; minimum GPA 3.0Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
Online instruction
Online classroom instruction
Mandatory campus attendance
No
Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
No placement is described; the program includes a capstone.
Placement arrangement
No placement published
Must already work in a veterinary setting
No
Placement site approval
Not published
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Not published
Duration
12 months (summer or fall start) or 24 months (fall start)
Credits
32 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Intakes
Not published

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
International applicants: TOEFL or other accepted English proficiency evidence

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Bachelor's degree (or equivalent) in any field and minimum GPA 3.0
Prior degree
Bachelor's degree or equivalent in any field
Documents
Graduate College Application with transcripts, resume, academic statement of purpose, three letters of reference and application fee
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Online graduate professional rate per credit hour (2025-2026 rates as published)Tuition$775per credit, 2025-2026 academic year (as published on the page)Online Graduate Professional Rate19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, accreditation or recognition record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction