Master’s degree
Master of Veterinary Science, Major in Livestock Systems Health (online)
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · College of Veterinary Medicine · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Master of Veterinary Science (Livestock Systems Health major)MVS
- Pathway
- Not classified
- Format
- OnlineApproximately two years part-time
- Tuition
- $775per credit, 2025-2026 academic year (as published on the page)
About this program
Part-time online master's for working professionals in animal agriculture and animal health, built around electives and an applied capstone project.
- Subject
- Veterinary science
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
- Prior degree required
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After a bachelor’s degree | most commonly 2 years | 32 | Bachelor's degree or equivalent in any field; minimum GPA 3.0Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- No
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- No placement is described; the program includes an applied capstone project.
- Placement arrangement
- No placement published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- No
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live sessions required
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Part-time
- Duration
- Approximately two years part-time
- Thesis or dissertation
- Applied capstone project (VCM 595)
- Intakes
- Not published
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- International applicants: TOEFL or other accepted English proficiency evidence
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor's degree (or equivalent) in any field and minimum GPA 3.0
- Prior degree
- Bachelor's degree or equivalent in any field
- Documents
- Graduate College Application with transcripts, resume, academic statement of purpose, three letters of reference and application fee
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Online graduate professional rate per credit hour (2025-2026 rates as published)Tuition | $775per credit, 2025-2026 academic year (as published on the page) | Online Graduate Professional Rate | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)