Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
University of Minnesota · College of Veterinary Medicine · Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year professional DVM preceded by pre-professional study; a new outcome-based model aimed at practice-ready veterinarians begins with the Class of 2031.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page describes a four-year professional program aimed at producing practice-ready veterinarians, who must then pass the NAVLE to be licensed.“Fully accredited, four-year professional program preceded by three to four years of pre-professional studies”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- All DVM students from AVMA accredited schools must pass the NAVLE to be fully licensed to practise in the United States.Source
- International applicants and graduates
- International applicants are considered only if pre-veterinary coursework was completed at an accredited US or Canadian institution.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year professional program preceded by three to four years of pre-professional studies | – | Prerequisite courses in chemistry, biology, physics, math, English composition and liberal education; bachelor degree not requiredSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, University of Minnesota (Saint Paul, MN); Status Accredited with a minor deficiency in Standard 1 (Organization), last evaluation 2021, next evaluation 2028
Further requirements: AVMA lists a minor deficiency in Standard 1, Organization.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement of full accreditation by the AVMA Council on Education
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Clinical components
- Summer semester between the third and fourth academic year is an additional term of tuition.
- Intakes
- Fall 2027 (Class of 2031)
- Campus
- St. Paul campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)1365 Gortner Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55108
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Interview required
- Science prerequisites
- Chemistry (general with labs, organic, biochemistry), biology with lab, genetics, advanced biology, mathematics (algebra or higher, statistics), English, physics and liberal education; graded C- or better; math and science courses within 10 years of the deadline.
- Prior degree
- A bachelor degree is not required; about 90 percent of entrants have completed one.
- Tests explicitly required
- The Admissions Committee has discontinued the GRE requirement.
- Documents
- VMCAS application and transcripts; three electronic letters of reference; non-refundable $85 University of Minnesota processing fee (no supplemental application).
- Deadlines
- VMCAS application, transcripts and $85 processing fee due September 15, 2026 for the Class of 2031 / program start fall 2027 · Fall 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Minnesota application processing fee (non-refundable)Application fee · mandatory | $85one-time, Class of 2031 cycle | All applicants | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Non-refundable deposit for admitted students who intend to enrolDeposit · mandatory | $500one-time, Class of 2031 cycle | Admitted applicants | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)