Veterinary Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

PhD in Veterinary Sciences / Comparative & Molecular Biosciences

University of Minnesota · College of Veterinary Medicine · Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Doctor of PhilosophyPhD
Pathway
Science and researchStated for United States
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Research doctorate in the College of Veterinary Medicine through the Veterinary Sciences and Comparative & Molecular Biosciences programs; a DVM/PhD dual degree is also offered.

Subject
Veterinary science
Department
College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate with a veterinary focus. It does not qualify anyone to practise as a veterinarian.
Pathway
Veterinary science and researchAcademic and research programs (veterinary science, biomedical sciences, public health, epidemiology, pathology and similar). They do not by themselves qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
Why we classify it this way
The graduate program trains independent scientists in animal, human and ecosystem health research and does not qualify graduates as veterinarians.“Our primary goal is to educate independent scientists to lead our workforce”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
St. Paul campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)1365 Gortner Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55108

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Department
College of Veterinary Medicine, Veterinary Sciences and Comparative & Molecular Biosciences graduate programs
Research themes
  • Transmission and progression of diseases of domestic animals, wildlife and humans
  • Mechanisms of animal and human health
Finding a supervisor
Students are admitted directly into the laboratory of a graduate faculty member who has funding to support the student.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • First-year Research Assistantship (PhD) Assistantship

    Guaranteed to eligible students · Minimum $30,440 annual stipend, tuition waiver and healthcare benefits · First academic year

    Eligibility: Incoming PhD students in the CMB and VSci graduate programs

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction