Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Technology (BSVT), online
University of Missouri · College of Veterinary Medicine · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science in Veterinary TechnologyBS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- Online
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Online degree-completion program for credentialed veterinary technicians who already hold an AVMA-accredited associate degree in veterinary technology.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program prepares working veterinary technicians for advanced responsibility and career advancement.“The online BSVT program prepares students for a broad scope of practice.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Existing professional qualification required | Not published | – | AVMA-accredited AAS in veterinary technology and current RVT/CVT/LVT/LVMT licensureSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- No
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- The page lists no clinical placement; it states no campus visits are required. Applicants must already hold current US veterinary technician licensure.
- Placement arrangement
- No placement published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Required professional status or prior education
- Current licensure as an RVT/CVT/LVT/LVMT in the United States
- Live attendance
- No live sessions
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Credits
- 120 US credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Campus attendance
- No campus visits required (online).
- Intakes
- Not published
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- AVMA-accredited AAS in veterinary technology; current licensure as RVT/CVT/LVT/LVMT in the US; minimum cumulative GPA 2.5.
- Prior degree
- Associate degree in veterinary technology required.
- Documents
- Official transcripts; transcript review on file.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)