Veterinary Schools

Master’s degree

MS in Biomedical Sciences, emphasis Veterinary Sciences (online)

University of Missouri · College of Veterinary Medicine · No campus · institution based in United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences with an emphasis in Veterinary SciencesMS
Pathway
Science and researchStated for United States
Format
OnlineFinish the program in three to four years (one or two courses at a time)
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Fully online master degree for veterinarians and veterinary technologists, with thesis and non-thesis options; explicitly not a route to DVM admission.

Subject
Veterinary science
Department
College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
Pathway
Veterinary science and researchAcademic and research programs (veterinary science, biomedical sciences, public health, epidemiology, pathology and similar). They do not by themselves qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
Why we classify it this way
The page says the degree leads to academic, research and industry roles and is not a route into a DVM program.“The MS in Biomedical Sciences degree is NOT intended as a means to prepare for admission to a DVM program”Source
Prior degree required
Yes

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
Online instruction
Online classroom instruction
Mandatory campus attendance
No
In-person assessment
Exams are proctored online.
Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
No placement: the page describes coursework with a thesis or project and states no campus visits are required.
Placement arrangement
No placement published
Must already work in a veterinary setting
Not published
Placement site approval
Not published
Required professional status or prior education
Veterinarian (AVMA-accredited college graduate) or veterinary technologist with an accredited technician program and a BS
Live attendance
No live sessions
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Finish the program in three to four years (one or two courses at a time)
Credits
30 US credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Thesis or dissertation
Thesis (original laboratory research) or non-thesis (publishable-paper project) option.
Intakes
Not published

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Veterinarians (graduates of an AVMA-accredited college) or veterinary technologists (2- or 4-year AVMA-accredited technician program with a BS in veterinary technology or another biological science).

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, accreditation or recognition record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction