Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Technology
The University of Tennessee at Martin · Department of Agriculture, Geosciences, and Natural Resources · Martin, Tennessee, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science (veterinary technology concentration)BS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour-year plan of study
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year bachelor's program with a veterinary health technology option covering livestock, exotic, companion and equine patients; students apply to the program after general coursework.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Department of Agriculture, Geosciences, and Natural Resources
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page describes a four-year accredited program in veterinary health technology preparing students to work with a variety of animal patients.“Unlike two-year programs that have a limited focus, our veterinary technology concentration will prepare you to work with a wide variety of animal patients”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates may take the Veterinary Technology National Licensing Exam; Tennessee licensure requires passing the VTNE.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Martin, TN; Bachelor of Science; initial accreditation January 24, 2014; next evaluation 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Four-year plan of study
- Clinical components
- Preceptorship in veterinary health technology (VET 380) and Vet Tech 490 in the plan of study
- Intakes
- Fall and spring (applications due May 1 for fall; December 1 for spring)
- Campus
- Martin campus256 Brehm Hall, Martin, TN
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum of 80 hours career experience with a veterinarian or veterinary technician.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Apply to UT Martin; then apply to the program after at least 45 hours of undergraduate coursework with minimum GPA 2.8 and 12 hours of specified science courses.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)