Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
University of Tennessee, Knoxville · College of Veterinary Medicine · Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusNine-semester, four-year program
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Nine-semester, four-year professional DVM admitting about 100 students a year (70 in-state, 30 out-of-state) after three to four years of pre-veterinary study.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The college describes a four-year professional program for the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree with licensing and NAVLE outcomes reported.“admits approximately 100 applicants to its four-year program for the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Nine-semester, four-year program after three to four years of pre-veterinary coursework | 66 | 66 semester credit hours of pre-veterinary course requirementsSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, University of Tennessee (Knoxville, TN); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2022, next evaluation 2029
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement: Fully Accredited; last site visit 2022, next 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Nine-semester, four-year program
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Knoxville campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Science prerequisites
- English composition 6, social sciences/humanities 18, general biology/zoology with lab 8, cellular biology 3, genetics 3, general chemistry with lab 8, organic chemistry with lab 8, physics with lab 8, biochemistry 4; total 66 semester hours; all complete by end of spring term before matriculation.
- Documents
- VMCAS application; UTCVM supplemental application fee.
- Deadlines
- VMCAS application deadline: September 15, 2026 (11:59 PM Eastern); supplemental application fee also due September 15, 2026 · 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)