Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
University of Wisconsin-Madison · School of Veterinary Medicine · Madison, Wisconsin, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- $37,523per year, 2026-27
About this program
Four-year professional DVM admitting about 100 students a year, with most seats reserved for Wisconsin residents.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- School of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the four-year program provides a broad veterinary medical education and skills necessary for the profession.“The goal of the professional curriculum is to provide each graduate with a broad veterinary medical education and the skills necessary for the profession.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year professional degree program | 60 | 60 semester credits of college coursework including 40-43 credits of required coursesSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, University of Wisconsin-Madison (Madison, WI); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2022, next evaluation 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Madison campus (School of Veterinary Medicine)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- TOEFL (minimum internet-based score printed as 5) or IELTS 7 for international and permanent-resident applicants whose native language is not English, taken no later than October 1, 2026.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- 60 semester credits of college coursework (40-43 required plus at least 17 elective credits); no single major preferred.
- Science prerequisites
- General biology or zoology with lab (4-5), genetics or animal breeding (3), general and qualitative chemistry with lab (8), organic chemistry (3), biochemistry (3), general physics (6), and further required courses; C or better; up to four outstanding courses allowed at application.
- Documents
- VMCAS application and transcripts.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, Wisconsin residentTuition · mandatory | $37,523per year, 2026-27 | Wisconsin Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition, non-residentTuition · mandatory | $61,096per year, 2026-27 | Non-Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)