Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
University of Prince Edward Island - Atlantic Veterinary College · Atlantic Veterinary College · Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusFour years (DVM Four-year Course Structure)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year professional veterinary degree at the Atlantic Veterinary College with pre-clinical teaching mostly in person and a clinical fourth year. Seats are split between subsidized Atlantic-province places and unsubsidized places open to Canadian and international applicants.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates to become veterinarians working in practice, research, public health and related fields.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Atlantic Veterinary College
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page states it prepares future veterinarians.“prepares future veterinarians to make a difference in animal health, public health, research, and community care”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Final-year students write the NAVLE; licensing is regulated by provincial or state bodies, each with its own requirements.Source
- International applicants and graduates
- International applicants are welcome and apply for unsubsidized seats via VMCAS; unsubsidized tuition is expected to be comparable to international rates.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year DVM program after prerequisite university coursework | – | At least 20 prerequisite courses including 10 prescribed courses and 10 electivesSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (with the CVMA)Program accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: UPEI Atlantic Veterinary College DVM program, as stated by the school
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Four years (DVM Four-year Course Structure)
- Clinical components
- Fourth year: 23 weeks of core clinical rotations plus at least 16 weeks of elective clinical rotations
- Campus attendance
- Over 95% of the core pre-clinical program is delivered in person; some courses may include distance education for specific components
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Campus
- UPEI Charlottetown campus (Atlantic Veterinary College)550 University Ave, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4P3
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredStructured descriptions of veterinary and animal experience are required; there is no minimum number of hours.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- At least 20 prerequisite courses completed or in progress, with a minimum 75% cumulative average across the 10 prescribed courses
- Science prerequisites
- Animal Biology 1-3, Genetics, Mathematics 1 and 2 (Statistics), Chemistry 1-3 (incl. Organic Chemistry), English (Composition), plus 10 electives
- International applicants
- Subsidized seats are for residents of PEI, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador; international and other Canadian applicants apply for unsubsidized seats.
- Tests explicitly required
- CASPer test
- Documents
- UPEI application and fee, transcripts, Animal/Veterinary Related Experience form; Atlantic residency form for subsidized seats
- Deadlines
- Subsidized seats (Atlantic Canadian residents): online application, fee, residency form and experience form due · Fall 2027 (2026) · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Unsubsidized seats: VMCAS application due · Fall 2027 (2026) · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)