Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Utah State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Logan, Utah, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour-year program
- Tuition
- $27,658per year, Projected cost of attendance, year 1 (academic year not printed)
About this program
New four-year competency-based DVM training mixed-animal veterinarians for Utah and the Intermountain West, with a distributed fourth-year clinical model; first cohort of 42 students matriculated August 2025.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states the DVM program trains day-one-ready veterinarians in mixed-animal medicine.“to train day-one-ready veterinarians in mixed-animal medicine for urban and rural communities across Utah and the Intermountain West”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year program | – | Prerequisite coursework; bachelor degree not requiredSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationConditional statusUS
Scope: School statement: provisional accreditation after matriculation of the inaugural cohort of 42 students on August 11, 2025; next site visit November 15-18, 2026
Dates: 11 August 2025 to not stated
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationConditional statusUS
Scope: DVM program, Utah State University (Logan, UT); listed as Provisional Accreditation (not full accreditation); last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2026
Further requirements: Provisional accreditation applies to a new program; site visit scheduled November 15 to 18, 2026.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four-year program
- Clinical components
- Fourth-year distributed model of rotations in college-approved private practice, regulatory and industry settings; all clinical instruction in person.
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Campus
- Logan campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)5605 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- GPA cutoffs for review: 2.9 cumulative and 3.1 in prerequisite math and science courses; at least 72 undergraduate credit hours highly recommended before matriculation.
- Science prerequisites
- Biology with lab 8 semester credits, inorganic chemistry with lab 10, organic chemistry 4, biochemistry 3, and further math/science prerequisites; C- or better; complete by July 1 of the year of matriculation.
- Prior degree
- A bachelor degree is not required.
- Tests explicitly required
- The AAMC PREview Exam is required; GRE scores will not be required or accepted.
- Documents
- VMCAS application and transcripts, USU DVM supplemental application ($0 fee).
- Deadlines
- VMCAS application deadline September 15, 2026 (11:59 PM ET) for admission in fall 2027; latest AAMC PREview test dates September 16 and 17, 2026 · Fall 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total tuition, year 1 (Utah resident)Tuition · mandatory | $27,658per year, Projected cost of attendance, year 1 (academic year not printed) | Utah Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Total tuition, year 1 (non-resident)Tuition · mandatory | $52,686per year, Projected cost of attendance, year 1 (academic year not printed) | Non-Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)