Associate degree
Veterinary Technology, A.A.S.
Vermont State University · Department of Healthcare Professions (Veterinary Technology program) · Randolph Center, Vermont, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year in-person associate degree preparing veterinary technicians, with hands-on animal work and a 300-hour externship between the first and second years.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician (laboratory, pharmacy, radiology, surgical care and diagnostic testing roles).
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Department of Healthcare Professions (Veterinary Technology program)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes the program as a route to a career as a veterinary technician and to eligibility for the VTNE.“Turn your love of animals and their well-being into a career as a veterinary technician with an Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary Technology”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to take the VTNE; in Vermont they can also apply to become a Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT).Source
- International applicants and graduates
- Program is eligible for international students requiring an F-1 visa.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Randolph Center, VT; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation April 1991; next evaluation 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Campus attendance
- Offered in person at Randolph, VT
- Clinical placement
- 300-hour externship, at least half at a primary care small-animal practice, between the first and second years300 hours
- Intakes
- Fall 1 - August 24, 2026, Spring 1 - January 19, 2027
- Campus
- Randolph Campus124 Admin Drive, PO Box 500, Randolph Center, VT 05061
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)