Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) Program
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University · Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine · Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
DVM program using competency-based admissions and an integrated, team-based curriculum with early entry to clinics.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program develops graduates capable of entering the veterinary profession with day-one knowledge, skills and abilities.“designed to develop competent and confident graduates capable of entering the profession with day-one knowledge, skills, and abilities”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Not published | – | Prerequisite courses completed with C- or better by the end of spring semester prior to matriculationSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, Virginia Tech (Blacksburg, VA); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2021, next evaluation 2028
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement: fully accredited; last site visit 2021, next visit scheduled 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Campus
- Blacksburg campus (Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Interview required
- Science prerequisites
- A set of prerequisite courses (C- or better) is retained; scientific competency requires a minimum of 24 credit hours in natural science (maximum 30 counted).
- Tests explicitly required
- Situational judgement test (November 2026 for Fall 2027 admission).
- Documents
- VMCAS application, VMCVM supplemental application and processing fee, resiliency essay, residency forms, letters of recommendation, Multiple Mini Interview.
- Deadlines
- VMCAS transcripts and application materials due September 15, 2026 11:59 p.m. EST (Fall 2027 admission) · Fall 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)