Associate degree
Veterinary Technology (AAS)
Volunteer State Community College · Veterinary Technology (Mathematics and Science division) · Gallatin, Tennessee, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science (AAS) in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusExpected to be completed in four semesters, with 13 to 16 credit hours per semester; four-semester and six-semester options are available
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Competitive limited-seating associate degree with classroom and clinical experience in referral centers and private practices; four- or six-semester options.
Role the program prepares for: Licensed veterinary medical technician.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology (Mathematics and Science division)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The packet says the program is designed to prepare students to become licensed veterinary medical technicians.“The program is designed to prepare students to become licensed veterinary medical technicians.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Gallatin, TN; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation February 15, 2013; next evaluation 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Expected to be completed in four semesters, with 13 to 16 credit hours per semester; four-semester and six-semester options are available
- Clinical components
- Majority of clinical experience in veterinary settings including referral centers and private clinical practices
- Intakes
- Spring (one class of 24 admitted each spring)
- Campus
- Gallatin campus1480 Nashville Pike, Gallatin, TN 37066
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience required8 observation hours with a veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician (or a work experience form).
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Admission to the college; acceptable placement scores; minimum overall GPA of 2.5 for students with a semester of college; Biology or Chemistry completed or in progress with C or better.
- Documents
- Application, short essay, reference letter, observation form, transcripts
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| National exam fee (VTNE)Other compulsory charge | $330one-time, 2026 information packet | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| State of Tennessee license feeOther compulsory charge | $85one-time, 2026 information packet | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)