Professional doctorate
WSU-MSU cooperative 1+3 DVM pathway (Year 1 at Montana State University, Bozeman)
Washington State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Bozeman, Montana, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (awarded by Washington State University)DVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campus1+3 pathway (four years in total)
- Tuition
- $23,470per year, Year 1 of the estimated four-year cost of attendance (academic year not printed)
About this program
Cooperative pathway for a cohort of up to 16 students: year 1 at Montana State University in Bozeman and years 2-4 at WSU in Pullman, leading to the WSU DVM.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page describes a pathway to the DVM degree awarded by WSU with year 1 in Bozeman and years 2-4 in Pullman.“Earn your Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degree through a unique partnership between Washington State University and Montana State University.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | 1+3: year 1 at MSU in Bozeman, years 2-4 at WSU in Pullman | – | Apply through VMCAS by choosing Washington State UniversitySource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: The 1+3 cooperative pathway leads to the WSU DVM degree; AVMA lists the WSU program (Pullman). The register does not separately describe the Bozeman first-year site.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 1+3 pathway (four years in total)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Montana State University, Bozeman (cooperative year 1)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, year 1 (certified Montana resident and WICHE funded students, Bozeman)Tuition · mandatory | $23,470per year, Year 1 of the estimated four-year cost of attendance (academic year not printed) | Certified Montana resident and WICHE funded students (Bozeman campus) | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: $93,880 (In-state residents). Calculated from published annual tuition for Year 1 of the estimated four-year cost of attendance (academic year not printed) x 4 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes clinical and laboratory charges, equipment, travel, placement expenses and other charges.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)