Veterinary Schools

Professional doctorate

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)

Washington State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Pullman, Washington, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for United States
Format
On campusFour years
Tuition
$28,278per year, Year 1 of the estimated four-year cost of attendance (academic year not printed)

About this program

Four-year professional DVM at Pullman for Washington residents, nonresidents, and Idaho and WICHE students; Idaho residents may receive in-state tuition through a cooperative program.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The accreditation text states that COE-accredited colleges prepare students for entry-level positions in the veterinary profession.“students enrolled in those colleges receive an education that will prepare them for entry-level positions in the profession”Source
Prior degree required
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
After pre-veterinary courseworkFour-year professional degree program6565 semester credits of prerequisites; baccalaureate degree strongly recommended before matriculationSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, Washington State University (Pullman, WA); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2031

  • Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: School statement: accreditation review in 2024, current status accredited; next site visit 2031

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Four years
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Pullman campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)P.O. Box 647010, Pullman, WA 99164-7010

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
TOEFL scores or language waiver for applicants whose primary language is not English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience recommendedVeterinary experiences are among the non-academic criteria considered; no minimum hours stated.
Interview
Interview required
Previous qualification
No minimum GPA requirement; four VMCAS GPAs considered.
Science prerequisites
Biology with lab 8, inorganic chemistry with lab 8, genetics 3, biochemistry 3, two upper-division biomedical science courses 6, physics with lab 4, statistics 3, algebra/pre-calculus or higher 3; general education: English composition 6 and arts/humanities/social science/history 21; total 65 semester credits.
Prior degree
Baccalaureate degree strongly recommended before matriculation.
Documents
VMCAS application, WSU additional questions and $70 supplemental fee, official transcripts to VMCAS, three eLORs, residency certification (Idaho, Montana, WICHE).
Deadlines
  • VMCAS application due September 15 (2026-2027 cycle) at 11:59PM Eastern Time; Idaho and Montana residency certification due September 1 · August 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition, year 1 (WA and ID residents and WICHE funded students, Pullman)Tuition · mandatory$28,278per year, Year 1 of the estimated four-year cost of attendance (academic year not printed)WA and ID Residents and WICHE funded students19 October 2026Source
Tuition, year 1 (non-resident, Pullman)Tuition · mandatory$65,056per year, Year 1 of the estimated four-year cost of attendance (academic year not printed)Non-resident students19 October 2026Source
WSU supplemental application feeApplication fee · mandatory$70one-time, 2026-2027 cycleAll applicants19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, clinical placement details.

Sources and how this was checked