Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology (Associate Degree Applied Science)

Weatherford College · Veterinary Technology Program · Weatherford, Texas, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate Degree Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campusVeterinary Technology Number of Credits 60
Tuition
Not published

About this program

60-credit associate degree combining classroom teaching with laboratories at the Weatherford Parker County Animal Shelter, local clinics and livestock and equine facilities; selection uses a point system.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technology Program
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The page says the program provides the education and hands-on learning to be successful in veterinary practices and that AVMA-program graduates may sit for the VTNE and Texas board exam.“The Veterinary Technology Program at Weatherford College is designed to provide students with the educational background and practical hands-on experiential learning to be successful in Veterinary practices in Texas and the United States.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
Graduates of AVMA-accredited programs are eligible to sit for the VTNE and the Texas State Board exam to obtain a license.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technician Program, Weatherford, TX; Associate of Applied Science; the AVMA list prints status INITIAL ACCREDITATION (initial accreditation February 10, 2022; next evaluation 2027)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Veterinary Technology Number of Credits 60
Credits
60 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Weatherford Campus225 College Park Drive, Weatherford, TX 76086

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum of 5 hours working or shadowing in a veterinary clinic under an LVT or DVM.
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Prerequisites including BIOL 1406, a math course and ENGL 1301 with C or better; point-based selection (54 points maximum).

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction