Associate degree
Associate in Science in Veterinary Technology (hybrid)
Windward Community College · Veterinary Technology (Veterinary Studies) program · Kaneohe, Hawaii, United States
- Official award
- Associate in Science in Veterinary TechnologyAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- HybridThree years; the degree portion is a five-semester program (Fall, Spring, Summer, Fall, Spring)
- Tuition
- $131per credit, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027
Hybrid program
About this program
A three-year hybrid version of the veterinary assisting and veterinary technology pathway, with online lectures and in-person labs, suited to people already working in veterinary facilities.
Role the program prepares for: Credentialed veterinary technician; designed for students who keep working in a veterinary facility while studying.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology (Veterinary Studies) program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The hybrid page says the degree prepares students for the VTNE to become a credentialed vet tech.“prepares students for the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) to become a credentialed vet tech.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Credentialing requires graduating from an AVMA-accredited program, passing the VTNE and following the requirements of the state regulatory board where the graduate plans to work.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | Three-year hybrid program (three-semester certificate year, then a five-semester degree portion) | 73 | Complete the veterinary assisting certificate year and pass a competitive application for the degree portion (GPA above 2.0 and C or better in all VETA courses).Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement for the Associate in Science in Veterinary Technology; the AVMA list entry does not state whether the hybrid track is covered separately, so this is recorded as school-stated.
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Blended with required campus elements
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Yes
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Oahu students come to campus weekly or for all-day labs a few times per semester; neighbor-island students fly to Oahu for all-day fast-track labs.
- Laboratory work
- In-person labs on the Windward campus.
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Interns twice at clinics and shelters during the final year; 240 internship hours in an assigned veterinary facility are stated for the veterinary technology degree.
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Three years; the degree portion is a five-semester program (Fall, Spring, Summer, Fall, Spring)
- Credits
- 73 semester creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical components
- Interns twice at clinics and shelters during the final year.
- Laboratory work
- In-person labs.
- Campus attendance
- Weekly or all-day labs a few times per semester for Oahu students; all-day fast-track labs for neighbor-island students.
- Intakes
- Fall
- Campus
- Windward Community College campus45-720 Keaahala Road, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not publishedThe page describes the hybrid track as best suited to students working at least 20 hours per week in a veterinary facility; it does not state this as a requirement.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Competitive entry into the second/third year based on GPA above 2.0 and C or better in all VETA courses.
- Documents
- Hybrid applicants watch an information video instead of attending a live session.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition per credit, residentTuition · mandatory | $131per credit, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 | Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition per credit, non-residentTuition · mandatory | $345per credit, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 | Non-Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)