Associate degree
Associate in Science in Veterinary Technology (on-campus)
Windward Community College · Veterinary Technology (Veterinary Studies) program · Kaneohe, Hawaii, United States
- Official award
- Associate in Science in Veterinary TechnologyAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusTwo years; the second (degree) year is three semesters: Summer, Fall, Spring
- Tuition
- $131per credit, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027
About this program
A full-time, in-person two-year pathway: a veterinary assisting certificate year followed by a competitive-entry veterinary technology year with hands-on lab work and internships.
Role the program prepares for: Credentialed veterinary technician; entry-level veterinary technician roles in private practice, biomedical research and related fields.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology (Veterinary Studies) program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the degree prepares students for the Veterinary Technician National Examination to become a credentialed vet tech.“prepares students for the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) to become a credentialed vet tech.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Credentialing requires graduating from an AVMA-accredited program, passing the VTNE and following the requirements of the state regulatory board where the graduate plans to work.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | Two-year, face-to-face program (first-year certificate followed by a three-semester degree year) | 73 | Students must complete the veterinary assisting certificate year and pass a competitive application for the second year (GPA above 2.0, C or better in all VETA courses).Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, 45-720 Keaahala Road, Kaneohe, HI 96744; Associate in Science. The AVMA entry does not distinguish on-campus and hybrid tracks. Next evaluation 2029.
Dates: 15 March 2013 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years; the second (degree) year is three semesters: Summer, Fall, Spring
- Credits
- 73 semester creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical components
- Interns twice at clinics and shelters during the final year; 240 hours of internship in an assigned veterinary facility.
- Laboratory work
- Intensive hands-on laboratory and practical experience using live animals in a clinical setting.
- Campus attendance
- Full-time on campus.
- Clinical placement
- Over 20 preceptor clinics and shelters.240 hours of internship
- Intakes
- Summer
- Campus
- Windward Community College campus45-720 Keaahala Road, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Competitive entry into the second year based on GPA above 2.0 and C or better in all VETA courses; the certificate must be earned first.
- Documents
- Second-year applications are available from instructors in the Spring semester of Vet Assisting.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition per credit, residentTuition · mandatory | $131per credit, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 | Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition per credit, non-residentTuition · mandatory | $345per credit, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 | Non-Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Professional fee, first yearOther compulsory charge | $100per semester, 2023-2024 catalog | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Professional fee, second yearOther compulsory charge | $300per semester, 2023-2024 catalog | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)