Associate degree
Veterinary Technology, AAS
Yakima Valley College · Veterinary Technology Program · Yakima, Washington, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science Degree in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusTwo-year course of study
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Full-time two-year program starting each fall, with small animal wards on campus and large animal work at area farms; admission is competitive and based on prerequisites, references and veterinary experience.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program is designed to prepare students for a career as a licensed veterinary technician.“The Veterinary Technology Program is designed to prepare you for a career as a licensed veterinary technician.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Yakima, WA; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation March 1999; next evaluation 2025 (as printed on the AVMA list)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two-year course of study
- Clinical components
- Small animal wards on campus; large animal work at area farms
- Intakes
- Fall (priority applications by May 1)
- Campus
- Yakima campusP.O. Box 22520, Yakima, WA 98907-2520
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredVeterinary clinic observation or veterinary work experience.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Completion of program prerequisites (high school and/or college coursework), letters of recommendation, and veterinary clinic observation or work experience.
- Documents
- Official transcripts, letters of recommendation, application packet
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)