Associate degree
Veterinary Technician Program (Associate in Specialized Technology, hybrid distance education)
YTI Career Institute · Veterinary Technician Program · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Associate in Specialized Technology (AST) in Veterinary TechnicianAST
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- HybridAs few as 20 months
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
Hybrid associate degree: instruction and simulated labs are fully online, with two externships at an approved veterinary hospital near the student; the school states a completion time of as few as 20 months.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technician Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program mission is to prepare entry-level veterinary technicians, and graduation qualifies students to take the VTNE.“The mission of the Veterinary Technician program at YTI Career Institute – York is to prepare entry-level veterinary technicians”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Applicants for a State Certified Veterinary Technician license must first pass the VTNE; graduation qualifies students to take it.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Associate in Specialized Technology, York PA (as listed by AVMA)
Dates: 4 April 2014 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Mostly online
- Mandatory campus attendance
- No
- In-person assessment
- Not stated on the program page.
- Laboratory work
- Simulated labs occur 100% online; hands-on essential skills are performed during two externships.
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Mandatory: two externship experiences at an approved veterinary site near the student; the student completes an externship at a veterinary hospital of their choosing, with sites approved by YTI-York.
- Placement arrangement
- Student arranges the placement
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Yes
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- As few as 20 months
- Laboratory work
- Simulated labs occur 100% online
- Clinical placement
- Two externship experiences at an approved site near the student
- Intakes
- Start new sessions on a regular basis
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)