Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology

Baker College · College of Health Science - Veterinary Technology · Cadillac, Michigan, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campustwo-year program
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Limited-enrollment, two-year, 63-credit-hour associate program taught on four Michigan campuses (campus key shows the first listed; see campuses), with a required 240-hour unpaid externship.

Role the program prepares for: Prepares students as veterinary technicians (animal nurses) eligible for national licensing exams.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
College of Health Science - Veterinary Technology
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“Learn to care for our four-legged friends as a veterinary technician.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Baker College of Cadillac, Veterinary Technology Program, Associate of Applied Science

    Dates: 9 May 2003 to not stated

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Baker College of Jackson, Veterinary Technology Program, Associate of Applied Science

    Dates: 21 March 2006 to not stated

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Baker College of Muskegon, Veterinary Technology Program, Associate of Applied Science

    Dates: 18 October 2002 to not stated

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS

    Scope: Baker College of Owosso, Veterinary Technology Program, Associate of/in Applied Science (INITIAL accreditation)

    Dates: 3 March 2022 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
two-year program
Credits
63 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Clinical placement
Requires students to complete a minimum of 240 hours of unpaid work experience in a veterinary facility under the supervision of a veterinarian.minimum of 240 hours
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Baker College of Cadillac9600 East 13th Street, Cadillac, MI 49601

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction