Veterinary Schools

Foundation degree

Foundation Degree Veterinary Nursing

Coleg Gwent · Veterinary nursing, Coleg Gwent (Usk Campus) · Usk, Wales, United Kingdom

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Foundation Degree in Veterinary Nursing (FdSc), awarded by the University of South WalesFdSc
Pathway
Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campusThis is a three year, full time course.
Tuition
£7,500per year, 2026/27 listing (start 17 September 2026)

About this program

Three-year full-time foundation degree taught at Usk with a year-long clinical placement of 1800 hours in a small animal veterinary practice; awarded by the University of South Wales.

Subject
Veterinary nursing
Department
Veterinary nursing, Coleg Gwent (Usk Campus)
Awarding body
University of South Wales

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Foundation degreeA foundation degree (for example FdSc), typically the first stage toward a bachelor’s qualification.
Pathway
Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
Why we classify it this way
The page states that graduates will be eligible for entry onto the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses (subject to RCVS conditions).“you will be eligible for entry onto the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS) Register of Veterinary Nurses (subject to RCVS conditions)”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
Students must also pass the RCVS final practical (OSCE) examinations, complete the Nursing Progress Log and the placement hours to enter the RCVS Register.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Entry from secondary schoolthree years, full time–64 UCAS points including an A Level in a biological scienceSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK

    Scope: RCVS register lists the University of South Wales (awarding university) as an accredited institution (2023, full accreditation); the register does not itemise qualifications or teaching sites

    Dates: 1 January 2023 to not stated

  • Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: University of South Wales curriculum record states the course is fully accredited by the RCVS

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
This is a three year, full time course.
Campus attendance
You'll be expected to attend college for sessions timetabled Monday to Friday.
Clinical placement
You will spend 52 weeks (1800 hrs) working full time in a small animal veterinary practice.52 weeks (1800 hrs)
Intakes
17 September 2026 (applications closed); 2027/28 applications open November 2026
Campus
Usk Campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum of one week of recent work experience in a small animal veterinary practice before enrolling (kennels, catteries, rescue centres or pet shops do not satisfy this)
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Minimum 5 GCSEs including Mathematics/Numeracy and English at Grade C or Grade 4 or above; minimum 64 UCAS points to include an A Level in a biological science (minimum grade C)
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition fee as advertised (one year only unless otherwise stated)Tuition · mandatory£7,500per year, 2026/27 listing (start 17 September 2026)Fees £7500.00; all advertised fees are for one year only19 October 2026Source

Calculated tuition total: £22,500 (All students). Calculated from published annual tuition for 2026/27 listing (start 17 September 2026) x 3 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes clinical and laboratory charges, equipment, travel, placement expenses and other charges.

Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction