
College
Coleg Gwent
Unit: Veterinary nursing, Coleg Gwent (Usk Campus)
Usk, United Kingdom
Overview
Further and higher education college in south-east Wales whose Usk Campus teaches a University of South Wales veterinary nursing foundation degree, an honours top-up and a Lantra Level 3 diploma. This record covers only veterinary nursing.
Veterinary programs researched: 3. 1 with an accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record checked against the authority’s own listing.
Programs
Each program is listed with its official award, level, pathway classification, delivery and published tuition. Accreditation, fees, language and entry requirements belong to the program, not to the whole institution.
Veterinary nursing
Lantra Diploma in Veterinary Nursing - Small Animal Practice Level 3
Lantra Level 3 Diploma in Veterinary NursingDiplomaVeterinary nursing
On campusDuration 74 weeksUsk Campus
Tuition not published
Foundation Degree Veterinary Nursing
Foundation Degree in Veterinary Nursing (FdSc), awarded by the University of South WalesFoundationVeterinary nursingAccreditation / validation verified
On campusThis is a three year, full time course.Usk Campus
£7,500per year
BSc (Hons) Veterinary Nursing Top Up
BSc (Hons) Veterinary Nursing (Top Up)Bachelor’sVeterinary nursing
On campusone-year BSc (Hons) Veterinary Nursing Science (Top Up) degreeUsk Campus
£9,535per year
Campuses and facilities
Places where teaching actually happens. Teaching hospitals, clinics, farms and laboratories are stated per campus, only as published.
Usk Campus
Usk, Wales, United Kingdom
Facilities not described on the pages we checked.
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded per program and campus, with the authority’s role. Accreditation, professional validation, degree-awarding authority and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration, and a qualification accepted in one jurisdiction is not automatically accepted elsewhere.
Foundation Degree Veterinary Nursing
Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK
Scope: RCVS register lists the University of South Wales (awarding university) as an accredited institution (2023, full accreditation); the register does not itemise qualifications or teaching sites
Dates: 1 January 2023 to not stated
A regulator or professional body (for example the RCVS or the AVBC) recognises or accredits the qualification under its own rules, for the scope and dates stated.
Lantra Diploma in Veterinary Nursing - Small Animal Practice Level 3
Not verifiedRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionUK
Scope: RCVS register lists the awarding organisation Lantra Awards (2021, full accreditation); that Coleg Gwent delivers it is stated by the college; the college page does not itself state RCVS accreditation of the diploma
Dates: 1 January 2021 to not stated
A regulator or professional body (for example the RCVS or the AVBC) recognises or accredits the qualification under its own rules, for the scope and dates stated.
Foundation Degree Veterinary Nursing
Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: University of South Wales curriculum record states the course is fully accredited by the RCVS
The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Sources and verification
How this profile was verified
Facts come from the institution’s own pages and from official registers, each with a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Last checked 19 October 2026. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)