Diploma
Lantra Diploma in Veterinary Nursing - Small Animal Practice Level 3
Coleg Gwent · Veterinary nursing, Coleg Gwent (Usk Campus) · Usk, Wales, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Lantra Level 3 Diploma in Veterinary Nursing
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusDuration 74 weeks
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Part-time Level 3 diploma taught one day a week at Usk for people employed in a small animal veterinary practice; leads to eligibility for the RCVS register after the nursing progress log, OSCEs and 1800 hours in a training practice.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary nursing, Coleg Gwent (Usk Campus)
- Awarding body
- Lantra Awards
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Official level
- Course listing (qualification level) Level 3 · Printed in the course listingAs stated in the source. A framework level does not make different national awards equivalent.
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states that completers become eligible to join the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses once the diploma, progress log, OSCEs and 1800 hours are completed.“You'll be eligible to join the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurse and will be a fully qualified veterinary nurse once you have successfully completed the Level 3 Diploma in Veterinary Nursing”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Not verifiedRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionUK
Scope: RCVS register lists the awarding organisation Lantra Awards (2021, full accreditation); that Coleg Gwent delivers it is stated by the college; the college page does not itself state RCVS accreditation of the diploma
Dates: 1 January 2021 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Part-time
- Duration
- Duration 74 weeks
- Campus attendance
- You'll need to be fully committed to attending college for one day a week for a total of 36 weeks per year for 2 years
- Clinical placement
- a log of 1800 hours in your training practice1800 hours
- Intakes
- 18 January 2027
- Campus
- Usk Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMust be employed in a small animal veterinary practice
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- At least 5 GCSEs at grade C or above, including Maths, English Language (or Welsh First Language) and at least 1 science subject
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Year 1 charges: LANTRA registration and certification, RCVS student veterinary nurse enrolment, online MCQ exam feesOther compulsory charge · mandatory | £643per year, Year 1 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Year 2 charges: OSCE fee and online MCQ exam feesOther compulsory charge · mandatory | £485per year, Year 2 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)