Veterinary Schools

Diploma

VetSkill Level 3 Diploma in Veterinary Nursing - Companion Animal Pathway

The College of Animal Welfare (CAW) · Veterinary nursing courses, The College of Animal Welfare · No campus · institution based in United Kingdom

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
VetSkill Level 3 Diploma in Veterinary Nursing (Companion Animal)
Pathway
Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
Format
Hybrid30 months (students employed in a veterinary practice) 36 months (non-employed students)
Tuition
Not published

Hybrid program

Part of this program is taught in person. It is not described as fully online. Professional pathway status is recorded separately from delivery.

About this program

Day-release Level 3 diploma (30 months if employed in a practice, 36 months if not) taught in classroom or Live Online with about ten practical skills days at a college centre and practice-based training; completion allows application to the RCVS register.

Subject
Veterinary nursing
Department
Veterinary nursing courses, The College of Animal Welfare
Awarding body
VetSkill

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
Pathway
Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
Why we classify it this way
The page states that completion allows students to apply for registration as a Registered Veterinary Nurse with the RCVS.“Completion of the VetSkill Level 3 Diploma in Veterinary Nursing qualification will allow you to apply for professional registration as a Registered Veterinary Nurse (RVN) with the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS).”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Not verifiedRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionUK

    Scope: RCVS register lists the awarding organisation VetSkill (2025, full accreditation); the CAW page describes the course as RCVS approved but the register does not itemise qualifications or centres

    Dates: 1 January 2025 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Blended with required campus elements
Mandatory campus attendance
Yes
In-person assessment
Final practical examinations (OSCEs) are undertaken on successful completion of all other assessments at the end of your programme.
Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
Time in an RCVS approved veterinary training practice, via employment or an unpaid work placement; non-employed students do six-month placement blocks in years 2 and 3
Placement arrangement
Student or institution arranges the placement
Must already work in a veterinary setting
No
Placement site approval
Yes
Live attendance
Live sessions required
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Part-time
Duration
30 months (students employed in a veterinary practice) 36 months (non-employed students)
Campus attendance
you will attend one of our college centres for practical skills training days, there are approximately 10 of these across the programme.
Clinical placement
Your time spent in veterinary practice can either be gained via employment or through an unpaid work placement.
Intakes
January 2027, May 2027, September 2027

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
No experience requirement publishedIf not employed in a veterinary practice, work experience is strongly encouraged; the college's placement team helps source an unpaid work placement
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Typically GCSEs at grades 9 to 4 (or A* to C) including English, mathematics and a science subject, or equivalent
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction