Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Nursing with Small Animal Rehabilitation (with placement)
Harper Adams University · Veterinary nursing at Harper Adams University · Newport, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- BSc (Hons) Veterinary Nursing with Small Animal Rehabilitation (with placement)BSc
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus4 years (full-time) including a one-year work placement.
- Tuition
- £9,790per year, 2026/27
About this program
Four-year sandwich degree including a one-year placement in an RCVS-approved training practice; graduates can apply to the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses. This pathway adds study of rehabilitation of the veterinary inpatient.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary nursing at Harper Adams University
- Awarding body
- Harper Adams University
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states that completing the award allows graduates to apply to the RCVS register of veterinary nurses.“will allow graduates to apply to enter the register of veterinary nurses held by the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS), the regulatory body.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- On entry you enrol with the RCVS as a Student Veterinary Nurse; meeting the assessment criteria allows graduates to apply to the RCVS register.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 4 years (full-time) including a one-year work placement. | – | 96 - 128 UCAS Tariff Points and relevant work experienceSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK
Scope: RCVS register lists Harper Adams University as an accredited institution (accreditation year 2023, full accreditation); the register page does not itemise individual qualifications
Dates: 1 January 2023 to not stated
Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationUK
Scope: School states the RCVS requirements for the Licence to Practice are written into the course structure; stated by the school only
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 4 years (full-time) including a one-year work placement.
- Campus attendance
- Harper Adams University campus (and location of work placement)
- Clinical placement
- To obtain the nursing qualification a minimum of 1800 hours is spent working in a registered veterinary nurse training practice, both as a short block release and during the sandwich year.minimum of 1800 hours
- Thesis or dissertation
- leading to the completion of a dissertation in the final year
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Harper Adams University campus (Edgmond)Newport, Shropshire TF10 8NB
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredA minimum of 4 weeks (20 days) work experience carried out since July 2024, comprising at least 2 weeks (10 days) in veterinary practice
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- 96 - 128 UCAS Tariff Points; GCE A Levels grades CCC or equivalent including Biology or Physical Education at grade C; GCSEs minimum of 5 at grade C/4 including English Language, Maths and Science
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time undergraduate tuition, UK and Irish national studentsTuition · mandatory | £9,790per year, 2026/27 | full-time UK and Irish national undergraduate students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Placement year tuition, UK and Irish national studentsTuition · mandatory | £1,955per year, 2026/27 | full-time UK and Irish national undergraduate students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Full-time undergraduate tuition, EU/EEA/Swiss national/International studentsTuition · mandatory | £17,160per year, 2026/27 | EU, EEA or Swiss nationals / International (overseas) | 19 October 2026Source |
| Placement year tuition, EU/EEA/Swiss national/International studentsTuition · mandatory | £4,000per year, 2026/27 | EU, EEA or Swiss nationals / International (overseas) | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)