Veterinary Schools

Bachelor’s degree

Veterinary Nursing (with placement)

Harper Adams University · Veterinary nursing at Harper Adams University · Newport, England, United Kingdom

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
BSc / BSc (Hons) Veterinary Nursing (with placement)BSc
Pathway
Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campus4 years (full-time) including a one-year work placement.
Tuition
£9,790per year, 2026/27

About this program

Four-year sandwich degree including a one-year placement in an RCVS-approved training practice; graduates can apply to the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses. The honours route adds leadership, business skills and consulting for veterinary nurses.

Subject
Veterinary nursing
Department
Veterinary nursing at Harper Adams University
Awarding body
Harper Adams University

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
Pathway
Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
Why we classify it this way
The page states that completing the award allows graduates to apply to the RCVS register of veterinary nurses.“will allow graduates to apply to enter the register of veterinary nurses held by the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS), the regulatory body.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
On entry you enrol with the RCVS as a Student Veterinary Nurse; meeting the assessment criteria allows graduates to apply to the RCVS register.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Entry from secondary school4 years (full-time) including a one-year work placement.–96 - 128 UCAS Tariff Points and relevant work experienceSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK

    Scope: RCVS register lists Harper Adams University as an accredited institution (accreditation year 2023, full accreditation); the register page does not itemise individual qualifications

    Dates: 1 January 2023 to not stated

  • Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationUK

    Scope: School states the RCVS requirements for the Licence to Practice are written into the course structure; stated by the school only

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
4 years (full-time) including a one-year work placement.
Campus attendance
Harper Adams University campus (and location of work placement)
Clinical placement
To obtain the nursing qualification a minimum of 1800 hours is spent working in a registered veterinary nurse training practice, both as a short block release and during the sandwich year.minimum of 1800 hours
Thesis or dissertation
leading to the completion of a dissertation in the final year
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Harper Adams University campus (Edgmond)Newport, Shropshire TF10 8NB

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience requiredA minimum of 4 weeks (20 days) work experience carried out since July 2024, comprising at least 2 weeks (10 days) in veterinary practice
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
96 - 128 UCAS Tariff Points; GCE A Levels grades CCC or equivalent including Biology or Physical Education at grade C; GCSEs minimum of 5 at grade C/4 including English Language, Maths and Science
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Full-time undergraduate tuition, UK and Irish national studentsTuition · mandatory£9,790per year, 2026/27full-time UK and Irish national undergraduate students19 October 2026Source
Placement year tuition, UK and Irish national studentsTuition · mandatory£1,955per year, 2026/27full-time UK and Irish national undergraduate students19 October 2026Source
Full-time undergraduate tuition, EU/EEA/Swiss national/International studentsTuition · mandatory£17,160per year, 2026/27EU, EEA or Swiss nationals / International (overseas)19 October 2026Source
Placement year tuition, EU/EEA/Swiss national/International studentsTuition · mandatory£4,000per year, 2026/27EU, EEA or Swiss nationals / International (overseas)19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked