Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Medicine and Surgery BVetMS (D100)
Harper and Keele Veterinary School · Harper and Keele Veterinary School · Newport, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery (BVetMS)BVetMS
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus5 years (full-time)
- Tuition
- £10,050per year, 2027/28
About this program
Five-year veterinary degree delivered jointly by Harper Adams University and Keele University as the Harper and Keele Veterinary School, with workplace-based clinical rotations in the final year.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Harper and Keele Veterinary School
- Awarding body
- Harper Adams University and Keele University
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says those completing the degree will be eligible to join the RCVS Register of Veterinary Surgeons and practise in the UK, pending a Privy Council recognition order.“those who complete the degree at Harper & Keele Veterinary School will automatically be eligible to join the RCVS Register of Veterinary Surgeons and practise in the UK”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Under the Veterinary Surgeons Act 1966 new veterinary degrees need a Privy Council Recognition Order; the page says graduates will automatically be eligible to join the RCVS register once it is made.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK
Scope: Harper and Keele Veterinary School BVetMS (RCVS status table: last visitation 2025, next visitation 2027); full accreditation by RCVS Council on 2 October 2025, pending Privy Council recognition order
Dates: 2 October 2025 to not stated
Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK
Scope: BVetMS degree: full accreditation from RCVS Council (school statement); recognition order pending
Dates: 2 October 2025 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 5 years (full-time)
- Clinical components
- 30 weeks of workplace-based clinical education through rotating intramural rotations
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- Harper Adams University campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK Home tuition feeTuition | £10,050per year, 2027/28 | UK Home students | 19 October 2026Source |
| International tuition feeTuition | £33,000per year, 2026/27 (2027/28 not yet confirmed) | International | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)