Veterinary Schools

Bachelor’s degree

Equine Veterinary Nursing

Hartpury University · Veterinary Nursing at Hartpury University · Hartpury, England, United Kingdom

Official award
BSc (Hons) Equine Veterinary NursingBSc
Pathway
Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campus4 years full-time
Tuition
£9,790per year, academic year starting 2026

About this program

Four-year full-time honours degree with a research dissertation and a second-year in-practice placement of 1,800 hours; graduates may be eligible to apply to the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses. Focus: equine and companion-animal nursing.

Subject
Veterinary nursing
Department
Veterinary Nursing at Hartpury University
Awarding body
Hartpury University

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
Pathway
Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
Why we classify it this way
The page says the degree leads to qualification as an RCVS Registered Veterinary Nurse.“Qualify as a Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS) Registered Veterinary Nurse.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
Students enrol as a Student Veterinary Nurse with the RCVS on joining; on graduation they may be eligible to apply to join the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Entry from secondary school4 years full-time–96-112 UCAS tariff points or equivalentSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK

    Scope: RCVS register lists Hartpury University as an accredited institution (accreditation year 2024, full accreditation); the register page does not itemise individual qualifications

    Dates: 1 January 2024 to not stated

  • Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationUK

    Scope: School states this course is accredited by the RCVS and that graduates may be eligible to apply to join the Register of Veterinary Nurses; stated by the school

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
4 years full-time
Clinical components
Benefit from a dedicated Veterinary Nursing Clinical Skills Centre
Clinical placement
In your second year, you’ll complete veterinary practice-based learning (currently 1,800 hours) in an approved RCVS veterinary nursing training practice.currently 1,800 hours
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Hartpury campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience requiredApplicants complete the skills in the Veterinary Nursing Work Experience Logbook; must complete Fitness to Practise Process
Interview
Interview possible
Previous qualification
96-112 UCAS tariff points, to include Biology; five GCSEs at grade 9-4 including English, Maths and a science
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Full-time undergraduate degree tuition, per yearTuition · mandatory£9,790per year, academic year starting 2026UK, Republic of Ireland (CTA), Crown Dependencies and British Territories Overseas students19 October 2026Source
In-Practice Year tuition (BSc Veterinary Nursing and BSc Equine Veterinary Nursing), per yearTuition · mandatory£9,790per year, academic year starting 2026UK, Republic of Ireland (CTA), Crown Dependencies and British Territories Overseas students19 October 2026Source
Clothing and footwear including a veterinary nursing uniform (circa)Equipment and protective clothing · mandatory£100one-time, not statedAll students19 October 2026Source

Calculated tuition total: £39,160 (Home students). Calculated from published annual tuition for academic year starting 2026 x 4 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes clinical and laboratory charges, equipment, travel, placement expenses and other charges.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked