Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Nursing
Hartpury University · Veterinary Nursing at Hartpury University · Hartpury, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- BSc (Hons) Veterinary NursingBSc
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus4 years full-time
- Tuition
- £9,790per year, academic year starting 2026
About this program
Four-year full-time honours degree with a research dissertation and a second-year in-practice placement of 1,800 hours; graduates may be eligible to apply to the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses. Focus: companion-animal nursing.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary Nursing at Hartpury University
- Awarding body
- Hartpury University
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the degree leads to qualification as an RCVS Registered Veterinary Nurse.“Qualify as a Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS) Registered Veterinary Nurse.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Students enrol as a Student Veterinary Nurse with the RCVS on joining; on graduation they may be eligible to apply to join the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 4 years full-time | – | 96-112 UCAS tariff points or equivalentSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK
Scope: RCVS register lists Hartpury University as an accredited institution (accreditation year 2024, full accreditation); the register page does not itemise individual qualifications
Dates: 1 January 2024 to not stated
Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationUK
Scope: School states this course is accredited by the RCVS and that graduates may be eligible to apply to join the Register of Veterinary Nurses; stated by the school
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 4 years full-time
- Clinical components
- Benefit from a dedicated Veterinary Nursing Clinical Skills Centre
- Clinical placement
- In your second year, you’ll complete veterinary practice-based learning (currently 1,800 hours) in an approved RCVS veterinary nursing training practice.currently 1,800 hours
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Hartpury campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredApplicants complete the skills in the Veterinary Nursing Work Experience Logbook; must complete Fitness to Practise Process
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- 96-112 UCAS tariff points, to include Biology; five GCSEs at grade 9-4 including English, Maths and a science
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time undergraduate degree tuition, per yearTuition · mandatory | £9,790per year, academic year starting 2026 | UK, Republic of Ireland (CTA), Crown Dependencies and British Territories Overseas students | 19 October 2026Source |
| In-Practice Year tuition (BSc Veterinary Nursing and BSc Equine Veterinary Nursing), per yearTuition · mandatory | £9,790per year, academic year starting 2026 | UK, Republic of Ireland (CTA), Crown Dependencies and British Territories Overseas students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Clothing and footwear including a veterinary nursing uniform (circa)Equipment and protective clothing · mandatory | £100one-time, not stated | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: £39,160 (Home students). Calculated from published annual tuition for academic year starting 2026 x 4 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes clinical and laboratory charges, equipment, travel, placement expenses and other charges.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)