Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Universidad Ana G. Méndez · School of Veterinary Medicine · Gurabo, Puerto Rico, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campus4 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year DVM with a final year of clinical rotations and externships; admission through VMCAS with CASPer and 300 hours of veterinary experience required.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- School of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The mission states the school trains professional veterinarians equipped to evaluate, diagnose and treat animals.“by training professional veterinarians equipped with the necessary tools to evaluate, diagnose, and treat animals”Source
- Prior degree required
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After a bachelor’s degree | 4-year course of study | – | Bachelor degree in a related field and prerequisite coursesSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationConditional statusUS
Scope: University statement: Provisional Accreditation dated August 5, 2024, Gurabo campus
Dates: 5 August 2024 to not stated
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationConditional statusUS
Scope: DVM program, Universidad Ana G. Mendez School of Veterinary Medicine (Gurabo, PR); listed as Provisional Accreditation (not full accreditation); last evaluation 2023, next evaluation 2026
Further requirements: Provisional accreditation applies to a new program; full accreditation is considered later.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 4 years
- Clinical components
- Final year dedicated to clinical core and elective rotations and externships; students rotate in the Veterinary Teaching Hospital in years two and three.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Gurabo campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Proof of English competency (TOEFL or IELTS) if English is not the first language.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum equivalent of 300 hours of veterinary professional experience (hands-on and/or related research).
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor degree in a related field from an accredited institution; minimum GPA of 3.00; C or better in required courses.
- Science prerequisites
- General biology 6 credits, microbiology with lab 4, genetics 3, general chemistry with lab 4, organic chemistry with lab 4, biochemistry 3, general physics 3, pre-calculus/calculus/statistics 3, English 6, humanities or social sciences 3.
- Prior degree
- Bachelor degree in a field related to the program required.
- Tests explicitly required
- CASPer is required for each admissions cycle.
- Documents
- VMCAS transcripts, three letters of recommendation (one from a veterinarian), rabies immunization evidence.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)