Veterinary Schools

Online Veterinary Science Degrees

Verified online and hybrid academic and research programs in veterinary science and related subjects, mostly postgraduate, with campus requirements, live-session expectations and entry requirements shown separately.

All online programsCan you study veterinary subjects online?

These programs are academic. They do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.

What “online” means for each program

Each listing states what is taught online and what is not: mandatory campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams, local clinical placements and who arranges them, veterinary workplace requirements and live attendance. Where a requirement is not published it is shown as not published, not as “none”.

Fully online academic instruction (8)

Teaching is fully online. Read the details: assessment, placements and live sessions can still require presence.

  • Master of Veterinary Medicine

    Massey University · Master of Veterinary Medicine Science and research

    Online classroom instructionMandatory campus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Yes

    Local placement: No placement is described on the page.Placement arranged by: No placement publishedRequired professional status: Applicants must hold a Massey BVSc or an equivalent veterinary qualification.

    Tuition not published

  • MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health (distance learning; PGDip, PGCert exit awards)

    Royal Veterinary College · MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health (University of London, with RVC academic leadership) Science and research

    Online classroom instructionMandatory campus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Yes

    In-person assessment: Unseen written examinations are held online in October, in the location of your choosingLocal placement: Not stated on the programme page; study is online and exams are taken onlinePlacement arranged by: Placement arrangement not published

    £2,616 one-time, 2026-27 (+1 more)

  • Veterinary Anaesthesia and Analgesia (Online Learning) MSc, PgDip (ICL), PgCert (ICL), PgProfDev

    University of Edinburgh · MSc (ICL) Veterinary Anaesthesia and Analgesia (with PgDip, PgCert and PgProfDev exit awards) Science and research

    Online classroom instructionMandatory campus attendance: not requiredLive sessions optionalInternational enrolment: Yes

    Local placement: Not stated on the programme page; teaching and assessment are described as taking place entirely onlinePlacement arranged by: Placement arrangement not publishedRequired professional status: Veterinary medicine or veterinary nursing degree

    Tuition not published

  • Advanced Clinical Practice (Online Learning) MVetSci, PgDip (ICL), PgCert (ICL), PgProfDev

    University of Edinburgh · MVetSci Advanced Clinical Practice (with PgDip, PgCert and PgProfDev exit awards) Science and research

    Online classroom instructionMandatory campus attendance: not requiredLive sessions optionalInternational enrolment: Yes

    Local placement: Not stated on the programme page; teaching and assessment are described as taking place entirely onlinePlacement arranged by: Placement arrangement not publishedRequired professional status: Veterinary degree or international equivalent plus at least 1 year of postgraduate experience as a veterinary surgeon

    Tuition not published

  • Conservation Medicine (Online Learning) MVetSci, PgDip (ICL), PgCert (ICL), PgProfDev

    University of Edinburgh · MVetSci Conservation Medicine (with PgDip, PgCert and PgProfDev exit awards) Science and research

    Online classroom instructionMandatory campus attendance: not requiredLive sessions optionalInternational enrolment: Yes

    Local placement: Not stated on the programme page; teaching and assessment are described as taking place entirely onlinePlacement arranged by: Placement arrangement not publishedRequired professional status: Qualified veterinarian (degree in veterinary medicine, BVM&S or equivalent)

    Tuition not published

  • Veterinary Professional Studies (PGDip / MSc) and RCVS CertAVP

    University of Liverpool · MSc Veterinary Professional Studies (PGDip exit award; modules count towards RCVS CertAVP) Science and research

    Online classroom instructionMandatory campus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Yes

    In-person assessment: Assessment is by assignments; those taking the equine dentistry modules have one compulsory practicalLocal placement: Not stated as a placement; many clinical modules require case reports and case logs using clinical cases from the student's own practice; optional in-person workshops at LeahurstPlacement arranged by: Placement arrangement not publishedRequired professional status: MRCVS or holder of a registerable veterinary qualification, with at least 1 year of practice experience

    £895 per course, 2026/27 (+1 more)

  • MS in Biomedical Sciences, emphasis Veterinary Sciences (online)

    University of Missouri · Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences with an emphasis in Veterinary Sciences Science and research

    Online classroom instructionMandatory campus attendance: not requiredNo live sessionsInternational enrolment: Not published

    In-person assessment: Exams are proctored online.Local placement: No placement: the page describes coursework with a thesis or project and states no campus visits are required.Placement arranged by: No placement publishedRequired professional status: Veterinarian (AVMA-accredited college graduate) or veterinary technologist with an accredited technician program and a BS

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Public Health: Veterinary Public Health Specialization (online)

    Utah State University · Master of Public Health (MPH) in Veterinary Public Health Science and research

    Online classroom instructionMandatory campus attendance: not requiredLive sessions optionalInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residencies: None.In-person assessment: None described; no on-campus attendance required.Local placement: Students must complete an Applied Practice Experience (APE) and a capstone paper (Integrative Learning Experience); the page does not say who arranges the APE.Placement arranged by: Placement arrangement not publishedEnrollment restrictions: USU is a SARA-approved institution offering fully online programs nationwide; see USU's state authorizations page for details.

    Tuition not published

Hybrid programs (2)

Part online, part in person. Never fully online.

  • Master of Professional Studies - Veterinary Parasitology (MPS)

    Cornell University · Master of Professional Studies in Veterinary Medical Sciences (Veterinary Parasitology) Science and research

    Blended with required campus elementsMandatory campus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Local placement: No clinical placement is described; a final capstone project is required.Laboratory work: Hands-on laboratories offered in a residential format.Placement arranged by: No placement published

    Tuition not published

  • Graduate Certificate in Dairy Herd Health

    University College Dublin · Graduate Certificate in Dairy Herd Health Science and research

    Mostly onlineMandatory campus attendance: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residencies: Approximately four face-to-face teaching days at Lyons research farm are expectedLocal placement: No placement stated; applicants need access to dairy farms and dairy farm data for courseworkPlacement arranged by: Student arranges the placementAlready working in a veterinary setting: YesRequired professional status: Degree in veterinary medicine registerable with the Veterinary Council of Ireland, with two to three years of relevant veterinary practice experience

    Tuition not published

10 programs

How results are ordered: alphabetically by institution, or by most recently checked when you choose that sort. There is no price ranking, because tuition in different currencies, fee categories and bases (per year, per credit, whole program) is not comparable. Adjacent subjects such as pre-veterinary or animal science appear only when you choose a subject. A value we could not verify is shown as “not published”, never as “no”. Items marked Sponsored are paid placements; they never change accreditation information, verification or order. Online programs are not counted as physically located in a state or city, and an institution’s location does not tell you whether it enrols students from your country.